Concerts at The ArtsCenter in Carrboro, NC


Image

My commitment to the community is to restore The ArtsCenter (300-G East Main St; Carrboro, NC 27510) to a position of primacy among folk and roots presenters between Alexandria, VA and Decatur, GA. Although we present concerts in the 355 seat Earl & Rhoda Wynn Theater and 106 seat West End Theater mostly Thursday through Sunday evenings, we sometimes present on any night and host jam sessions and song circles on Monday evenings. We share the use of these facilities with ArtsCenter Stage, the ArtSchool, more than a dozen resident theatre, comedy, improv, film, and dance companies, ArtsCamp, Youth Arts Blocks, and rentals ranging from Cat’s Cradle concerts to community square dances to bat and bar mitzvahs. For that reason, The ArtsCenter presents an average of 60 concerts for adults per year. Visit our website to learn about shows and concerts for children and families.

I have three decades experience in folk and bluegrass music and the support of outstanding concerts at The ArtsCenter sponsors including Chapel Hill Restaurant Group, Giorgios Hospitality Group, Atma Hotel Group (including the new Hampton next door), Furniture Lab, Brooks Pierce, and the North Carolina Arts Council.Image

Most of all we need your support as a donor, business sponsor, or ArtsCenter Friend, and as a ticket buyer. All these can be accomplished by visiting artscenterlive.org or calling 919-929-2787.

The ArtsCenter currently has this remarkable lineup of concerts scheduled

Monday, October 21, 2013 Ralph Stanley & The Clinch Mountain Boys
Wednesday, October 30, 2013 disappear fear (SONiA)
Saturday, November 09, 2013 Sam Bush
Friday, November 08, 2013 Quiet American with Adam Hurt & Beth Hartness
Friday, November 15, 2013 The Honeycutters
Sunday, November 17, 2013 Charlie King & Karen Brandow
Wednesday, November 20, 2013 Jake Shimabukuro
Thursday, November 21, 2013 Kirk Ridge, Lizzy Ross, Rebecca Newton, Jack Herrick, Joe Newberry, Nancy Middleton
Saturday, November 23, 2013 John Gorka
Friday, December 06, 2013 Dar Williams
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 FiddleX Holiday Concert
Friday, January 03, 2014 Robin & Linda Williams
Tuesday, January 07, 2014 Genticorum
Friday, January 10, 2014 Nu Blu
Saturday, January 11, 2014 Hot Club of Cowtown
Sunday, January 12, 2014 Dana & Susan Robinson
Thursday, January 16, 2014 Sparky & Rhonda Rucker
Friday, January 17, 2014 Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Saturday, January 18, 2014 GangstaGrass
Thursday, January 23, 2014 Cahallen Morrison & Eli West w/Bevel Summers
Saturday, February 01, 2014 Grace Pettis
Saturday, February 08, 2014 Joe Pug
Sunday, February 09, 2014 David Jacobs-Strain
Friday, February 21, 2014 Ennis
Saturday, February 22, 2014 Lucy Kaplansky
Tuesday, February 25, 2014 Clive Carroll
Sunday, March 09, 2014 Guy Davis
Wednesday, March 12, 2014 Rory Block
Thursday, March 13, 2014 Paul McKenna Band
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 Pete & Maura Kennedy
Friday, March 21, 2014 Missy Raines & the New Hip
Saturday, March 22, 2014 John McCutcheon
Thursday, March 27, 2014 Archie Fischer & Garnet Rogers
Friday, March 28, 2014 Scott Ainslie
Saturday, March 29, 2014 Foghorn String Band w/Piney Woods Boys
Friday, April 04, 2014 Sultans of String
Thursday, April 10, 2014 Drew Nelson
Friday, April 11, 2014 Seldom Scene
Sunday, April 13, 2014 Brother Sun
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 Paddy Kennan
Thursday, May 01, 2014 Cathie Ryan
Friday, May 02, 2014 April Verch
Friday, May 09, 2014 Rolling Roots Review
Sunday, May 11, 2014 Tret Fure
Sunday, June 08, 2014 Jeanette & Johnnie Williams with Louisa Branscomb
Saturday, June 28, 2014 Songs from the Circle 3
Thursday, July 31, 2014 Local songwriters featuring Katherine Whalen
Friday, September 05, 2014 Jonathan Edwards
Friday, September 12, 2014 Steve Forbert
Thursday, September 18, 2014 Sarah McQuaid
Saturday, November 15, 2014 Tom Paxton

Warren Hellman Memorial


By Art Menius, February 19, 2012

Looks like the Warren Hellman Fest has reached its end – Emmy Lou Harris, Kevin Welch and Keiran Kane, Buddy Miller, John Doe, Gillian Welch & David Rawlings, Robert Earl Keen, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, and Old Crow Medicine Show and stage for the finale. Earlier Steve Earle, John Doe, Boz Scaggs, and Dry Branch Fire Squad performed.

From the free webcast of the free outdoor festival, I have no way of estimating the size of the audience. People went back as far as he camera could capture. Two stages kept the show moving swiftly to its conclusion with the Go to Hell Man Clan singing “I’ll Fly Away” and “Big Rock Candy Mountain.” The weather broke sunny, fortunately, for the event at the beach, rather than the rechristened Hellman Hollow where Hardly Strictly will continue each October.

Grammy Thoughts


By Art Menius for artmenius.com February 12, 2012

My first Grammy Awards as a lapsed NARAS member after more than a score of watching my people not win reaffirmed my decision. The categories that mattered most to me as voter came and went seemingly in a flash on the Internet only program that Steve Martin called the “daytime Grammys” in a Tweet. Adding NFL players and hot starlets to the presenters does not support any claims to artistic merit in the choices.

Levon Helm, for whom the word “veteran” would short his career by 25 years, won for Best Americana Recording. Thus the great Linda Chorney scare of 2012 was averted without resorting to nuclear weapons. File that under soon to be forgotten controversies.

40% of the Best Rock Song nominees have a banjo in the band. How 2012! The Decemberists and Mumford & Son. Then Taylor Swift pulls out an open-back five-string banjo and an old-time band for her otherwise typical Taylor Swift song. The imagery alone is powerful – popular, young country star with a banjo in her hands in one of her three or four most important appearances of the year.

Also, she demonstrated that one can put on “big show” using those instruments and those images on the big stage that proved way more successful than Nicki Manji, when the latter provided the show’s low point.

Even if bluegrass and Americana along with the single blues category and the regional polyglot concoction into which “my” categories disappeared are exiled to the Internet broadcast, banjo fever continues unabated.

Banjo congrats to Bela Fleck for the Best Instrumental Recording award.

More banjo in the Glen Campbell tribute by, I think, Glen’s daughter. Might be the last Grammy telecast for “Gentle On My Mind.” Hartford’s song has a had a great run. Same for Glen Campbell. Certainly moving for him to have one last moment in the spotlight while he can still do it and enjoy it. “Rhinestone Cowboy” certainly proves appropriate. The last single my dad ever bought at age 59. I did hear that “where do I go or do I just shut up” at the end.

Think Taylor will ever catch Alison in total Grammys won?

Poor Brian Wilson of the many chins. Sir Paul McCartney even ages better although Brian may have better realized his new music is not what turns the fans on.

Despite the hype, Adele can sing. She had better take care that voice this time around. Great that she covered a Steeldrivers’ song. Adele beats Bon Iver for Song of the Year, but at least the latter was nominated and the Best New Artist is a bit of consolation for him.

Hazel Dickens and her friend Warren Hellman of Hardly Strictly Bluegrass depicted together in the obits shows someone at NARAS is paying attention.

Great to see all of Alison Krauss & Union Station on hand to accept Best Bluegrass Recording and Steve Martin in the audience. With all the Grammys she has won and all the awards and success Martin has had, they could have easily phoned it in. That also demonstrates support for the category. New rules raising the minimum number of entries suggest the attack on the non-TV categories will continue.